Skip to content

Vlaflip

October 25, 2010

I know I have been awfully quiet on this blog, but to be honest I have been so busy with baby things and getting the house sorted out that the meals I’ve made have been incredibly boring lately.

I have however been watching a lot of The F Word – with Gordon Ramsay, and this has inspired me to try not only his dishes but some others that I have in my recipe collection.

Vlaflips are a light Dutch summer dessert, that I absolutely love, as its easy to make for a lot of people, and really not expensive. Its also great because its not a heavy dessert, so it finishes off a meal just right.

source

Ingredients
Fruit compote (any you like)
Custard (I make mine from custard powder, but Ultramel works just as well)
Plain yogurt (double cream or greek is yummy, but I use Bulgarian)

In a glass (wine glass or pretty cooldrink glass) place about 4 tbsp fruit compote. Carefully place a good layer of custard on top, and then follow with the yogurt. The idea is to have 3 layers. You can sprinkle fruit or vermicelli on top, just for garnish.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2011 11:01 pm

    The order is wrong in the picture. It should be syrup on the bottom, then yogurt and the custard on top, not the yogurt. And yes, syrup, not fruit compote!

    • March 11, 2011 6:07 am

      thank you for your comment… you could be less snide however – i actually found a recipe in a DUTCH cookbook for it with fruit compote/coulis, so it might be possible, either way it worked.

Leave a Reply

