Skip to content

Recipe Revamp: Most Decadent Brownies

September 20, 2010

I make the best brownies in the world, ok, there I said it… But they rock out the sugar and HIGH GI! So I decided to try and healthify them, using some real food ideas. The original recipe is here. Shame on you if you haven’t tried them yet!

Here’s the revamp – they aren’t quite as moist… I think its the flour… But they are still divine!

Ingredients

1/2 cup muscavado sugar
1/2 cup honey
1/4 cup cocoa
1/2 cup butter
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla essence
3/4 cup whole wheat flour (I want to try with something like a gluten free flour still)

Method

Mix cocoa and sugar together.
Melt butter and add to sugar mix.
Add eggs and mix well.
Add vanilla.
Mix flour in well.
Pour into microwavable dish.
Microwave for 5 minutes.

ENJOY… nomnomnom… and don’t feel too guilty. Remember butter is actually good for you.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 10:25 am

    Talking about healthy stuff, wonder if subbing the butter with coconut oil would work? Not that I have anything against butter of course… 🙂

    The honey sounds like a nice touch here.

    • September 21, 2010 7:31 am

      I thought about it – but I would rather go half coconut oil and half butter then. But butter is healthy anyway, in moderation of course. But trumps margarine. I just don’t have coconut oil at the moment, I’m looking for a slightly more affordable supplier. And my husband is a bit allergic to coconut, so I didn’t want to risk too much. I must say though, next time I’m going to use less whole wheat flour, and still use cake flour – these were way dry…

Leave a Reply

