Skip to content

Real Food and new beginnings (Soaked Oats with fruit, seeds and honey)

September 20, 2010

Following much internal debate about my health and that of my family, especially with baby on the way. I have decided to slowly convert our diet to a more nutritious and nourishing one, using “real” food. I ordered a copy of Nourishing Traditions which will hopefully help me with the basics I need, as well as some ideas for recipes. But given that it seems to have to be ordered from the USA, I have started checking out my favourite bloggers so long, and seeing which of their recipes look good, and learning more about the processes involved in real food diets. What I like is that most of the food is natural, or as close as, and there’s little processing, at least the foods have not been processed to death. It seems to be a tad more time consuming than just grabbing cereal, chucking it in a bowl etc. But the effects appear to be much more rewarding healthwise. I am very keen to get my coconut oil and natural sweeteners (stevia, rapadura etc) and get started on making my family have better food choices. I know for a fact that my husband will not eat half of what I want to make, but it mostly a conditioning thing, and maybe (hopefully, God willing) he will adapt, and come around. Either way, baby will have no choice, and know no better.

So to start, I wanted to try something simple, like soaked oatmeal, and funny enough this recipe came from a South African magazine, and turned out quite well, and was easy to prepare.

Serves 4 (adapted from FIT Pregnancy magazine March 2009)

1 cup raw oats
1 cup plain yogurt
1 cup apple juice
mix of freshly cut fruit
4 tbsp mixed seeds (pumpkin, flaxseed and sesame seeds)
4 tbsp honey

Stir the oats, yogurt and apple juice together and refrigerate covered overnight. I used an old glass jar with a sealable lid.
Toast the seeds in a pan, add the honey and stir until bubbly and runny.
Spoon some oats in a bowl and top with fresh fruit (I used bananas today).
Drizzle some of the warm seeded honey.
A batch of oats can be made and stored in the fridge for up to a week. For more on soaking check out Passionate Homemaking.
Enjoy!! The taste takes some getting used to, but I think in my case its the seeds, I don’t eat nuts, and seeds taste like nuts…so yeah. But the oats is yummy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 7:19 am

    good luck! Hubby will adapt so don’t worry about that 🙂

  2. September 21, 2010 7:28 am

    Thanks Tandy – but I strongly doubt it. Whats most important is that baby grows up eating healthily. Hubby will adapt partially though…

Leave a Reply

