Skip to content

Easy Mocha Chocolate Cake

August 24, 2010
tags:

Its my baby brother’s 20th birthday today, makes me realise I am getting old πŸ˜‰ Seriously though, its weird if I think about the little brat brother I grew up with vs the giant first year engineering student now in his place. I guess even though he’s hugely taller than me, he’ll always be my baby bro. So before I get all soppy and all, I baked him a cake…now I am not a oven cake baker, its never worked out… so I baked him a microwave cake. Its divine.

Cake
1 cup flour
1 cup sugar
1 cup hot water
1 tbsp cocoa
2 tbsp instant coffee
2 eggs
4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla essence
1/4 cup oil
A few marshmallows cut into 3’s

Place cocoa into a mixing bowl. Add hot water and cool down.
Mix together flour, sugar, salt and baking powder.
Beat eggs and add to cooled down cocoa, with vanilla and oil.
Add to dry ingredients and mix well. Pour in a microwave proof baking pan.
Bake for 7 minutes on high.
Turn out on a cake plate.
While cake is hot, place marshmallows on top.

Icing
1 cup icing sugar
15ml cocoa
5ml instant coffee
15ml milk
15ml butter

Sift icing sugar, cocoa and coffee into a deep 500ml microwave dish. Add milk and butter. Microwave mixture, uncovered on high for 1 minute. Beat very well to make a smooth icing. Quickly pour over marshmallows on the cake ensuring even distribution and that the marshmallows don’t slide off.

Serve with coffee πŸ™‚

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

