Skip to content

Best Winter Food: Butternut Soup

August 10, 2010

I have to make supper for around 12 people for our bible study tonight… I wracked my brains and decided on soup. Thanks to my good blog friends Jessica and Colleen… it was their idea. Now I’m no gourmet chef, and soup is the worst thing I make – in our house the husband makes the soup… Thats how bad mine is. I can make a decent butternut soup, but as I just “gooi” instead of follow a recipe, it turns out interestingly.


source

Here’s my attempt at Butternut soup:

3kg butternut or pumpkin (I cheated and used the bags of precut, peeled – but its expensive šŸ˜¦ )
2 onions, chopped
1 tbsp olive oil
2 tsp curry powder
2 litres chicken stock
juice of 2 oranges

Fry the onions in the oil in a HUGE pot (i used my mom’s beeeeeeg pressure cooker). Add some water to prevent burning. Add curry powder, and stir in. Add the orange juice. Then add the butternut and chicken stock and cook till soft and mushy. Allow to cool a tad, then liquidise in a blender. Serve HOT with fresh bread.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 12:59 pm

    I take it the soup turned out well then? šŸ™‚
    A tip for the next time you’re making soup, Checkers has a free cutting service; you can take any veggies that you buy from them to a special counter and they will cut and peel it for you free of charge! Checkers is the only place I buy butternut because I hate peeling it myself!

    • August 10, 2010 1:14 pm

      oh my word! i wish i’d known that!!! i think fruit and veg does the same now that you mention it… flip! I blame the baby for my lack of sense!

  2. August 11, 2010 6:55 am

    So glad the soup turned out well and that everyone enjoyed it. Yes the precut bags are more expensive and yes, Fruit and Veg City and Checkers cut them free of charge for you hehe! I have to either do my own or use the precut (now and again in emergencies) as I don’t have a Checkers or Fruit & Veg nearby! xx

  3. August 11, 2010 10:35 am

    I love butternut soup, and have a great recipe for it, but my hubby does not like it at all, and so I never make it.

Leave a Reply

