Skip to content

Fairly Healthy Ice Cream

August 9, 2010

My gran is a “convenient” cook – she likes things you can chuck together and serve up without much effort. I have moments where I love to go all out and cook from scratch, and other times, I prefer the quick and dirty way. Ice cream is a quick and dirty for me, added to the fact that eggs are a no no in pregnancy and cream is way too rich. This led me to begging my gran for her ice cream recipe. Here it is (no picture – coz my camera is screwy)

1 can Ideal evaporated milk (i use the reduced fat one)
1 can condensed milk
1/4 cup sugar
1 litre full cream or low fat vanilla/fruit yogurt (I used the smooth low fat strawberry one)

Stick the can of Ideal milk in the freezer for an hour or so, to get nice and chilly. Then pour in a big bowl and whip up, I use a stick blender. Then add the condensed milk and whip some more. Add the sugar and yogurt and mix well so that everything is blended smoothly. Then pour into freezable container – it just fits in a 2 litre ice cream container. Stick in the freezer and wait…. The idea is to mix every few hours, but my gran always forgets and then she just defrosts it slightly before use. I try to mix it every so often, but if you forget its not the end of the world.

Let me know if you try this and send pictures if you try it out!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 5:45 am

    this is a great alternative!

Leave a Reply

