Skip to content

Homemade Nachos

April 14, 2010

On my list of top 10 favourite foods is nachos. The best ones I have ever tasted were from Buena Vista in Tyger Falls (which sadly burnt down a few weeks ago). I was craving them recently, and decided to try my hand at making them with what I have in the house. Since my darling husband knows I am addicted to avocados, he bought 6 the other day, which is great as I now have tons of guacamole. I think next time I make nachos I will add chicken or beans, and for a lower fat version, leave the cheese out. They were so good anyway!

1/2 bag of sour cream doritos
1 cup grated cheese
3 iceberg lettuce leaves, sliced
1 tomato, chopped
1 avo, mashed with a teaspoon of mayonaise
3 tbsp fat free cottage cheese

Place the doritos on a baking tray, and sprinkle with cheese.
Grill in oven till cheese is melted and bubbling.
Remove from oven, divide onto two plates.
Sprinkle each one with lettuce, tomato on top.
Top with avo mix and a blob of cottage cheese.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

